“Found A Home, Far Away From Home” by MDC

Splash_French_Culinary_4As Tuesday 9/8/2009 marked my final day of employment at The French Culinary Institute, I would like to give thanks to all of you who I got the pleasure of meeting and working with everyday. Life in NYC is hard, especially if you’ve moved 3000 miles away from your home, so I owe a lot to those who helped me make it here over the past three years and whom I now consider a part of my family. After earning 5 FCI certificates and enjoying just over 2 years employment at L’Ecole, I logged quite a few hours in the building resultantly benefiting from contact with so many important people. These individuals have advised, assisted, backed, befriended, believed in, cheered for, encouraged, endorsed, furthered, gone to bat for, lent a hand to, lifted, opened doors for, pushed, relieved, saved, stuck up for, supported and taken care of me. I’d like to give special thanks to those who showed me the ropes and took me under their wings, ultimately giving me the tools for success in the tough hospitality industry. Sad to be leaving and forever indebted, the FCI will always hold a special place in my heart!

Much love and many thanks to and in no particular order: Dorothy Hamilton, Claudia Ramone, Marcella Smith, Alexis Kahn, Chris Papagni, Gary Apito, Audrey Chasi, Karen Endy, Josephine D’cicco, Joanne Whitwell, Cris Mertz, David Lopez, Alain Sailhac, Will Boze, John Davis, Barbara Sarrubi, Vincent Oliva, Jock Grundy, Katie Myers, Jen Scher, Shane Weinstock, Carla Owens, Leslie Scotland, Jacques Pepin, Phil Gutenschen, Eric Murnighan, Emily Marshak, Alan Richman, Steven Shaw, Matt Randall, Nils Noren, Kristen Magueri, Dave Arnold,  Andre Soltner, Cesare Casella, Ron Ben-Israel, Candy Argondizza, Marc Bauer, Sixto Alonso, Pascal Beric, Phil Burgess, Jeff Butler, Wanda Centeno, Karen Chirgwin, Janet Crandall, John Cumming, Ray Dawson, Laura Guetti, Mimi Hill, Jaffrey Hom, Lisa LaCorte, Justin Levine, Veronica Lindemann, Hervé Malivert, Xavier Mayonove, Ryan Orkus, Marc Pavlovic, Dominique Payraudeau, Jason Potanovich, Rogers Powell, Timothy Shaw, Michelle Spiegel, Annette Tomei, Angela Dimino, Henri Viain, Nicolay Yerofeyen, Joe Jae Kim, Kir Rodriguez, Karen Bornarth, Christina Wang, Brian Bishop, Chef Bear, Chef Jeremy, Chef Jeremiah, Mindy, Wendy, Tara, Alex  Suzanne Sobel, Michael Stiver, Ester Rose, all the L’Ecole FOH staff and A La Carte Kitchen and so many more!

-Sincerely, Matthew D. Christianson

2 Responses to ““Found A Home, Far Away From Home” by MDC”

  1. i was starting to contemplate i may well end up being the sole student who thought about this, at the very least currently i know i’m not insane :) i am going to be sure to go and visit a handful of various posts immediately after i get my morning caffeine in me, it can be very hard to read without having my coffee, I was really late last night grinding myspace poker and after downing a few beers i wound up giving up all my facebook poker chips cheers :)

  2. houndstoothnyc Says:

    Thanks Steve… I won’t be far away! You can come visit me at Aureole, as I began my training there on yesterday.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

