“Inspired” by SRC

Inspired by my latest “Daily Culinary; quote of the day” I braved the heat of the kitchen this evening and made Matt dinner. I chose to attempt my mother’s hard-worked, yet unrecorded, recipe for Picadillo, the dish of my childhood.  Sergio Careaga, my Grandfather, was born in Cuba and moved to New York when he was 17. Picadillo was a regular part of his cooking repertoire, making it at least 3 times a week for my father and aunt. Needless to say, once my dad was grown he rarely had the urge to make a dish he was so inundated with as a child. He took to making more sophisticated recipes but still with the flavors of home and tradition.  My mom, understanding the importance of passing along my heritage, committed herself to perfecting the dish. My memories of Picadillo are ones of comfort, and recreating this feeling was my goal. I took my time in preparing each of my ingredients, drinking some wine and standing over the simmering pot as I watched, listened and smelled for memories past… and what do you know, the smell of familiarity slowly filled the room. I could tell you that I succeeded in my first attempt at the recipe but I’ll let the mental image of Matt sleeping soundly on the couch as I write and picture of his perfectly clean plate do it for me.

IMG_0007

Leave a Reply

